Home-made Christmas Wreath

Standard

When I was in first grade I remember an arts and craft project we did for Christmas.  My entire class made Christmas wreaths out of wire hangers and trash bags.  Today I decided to revisit that childhood memory and found a wire hanger and started cutting up all the grocery bags I save after grocery shopping.

Before I got started I was going to use my plain white trash bags I have but I wanted some sort of color incorporated into my wreath.  I remembered that the HEB logo on the grocery bags is in red.  So I got out the scissors and started cutting up bags.

It is a very simple craft for the whole family to enjoy working on together.

What you will need:

1 wire hanger
Scissors
Trash bags (any color you would like)

Shape your wire hanger into  a circle leaving the hook as is.  Cut trash bags into 2-3 inch strips.  Wrap one strip around the round shaped part of the hanger and tie into a tight know.  Push the tied know up to the top of the hanger.  Repeat with all trash bag strips until the hanger is completely covered.

The final product

Next year I hope to do a Home-made Christmas with connecting rings made of red and green construction paper, popped corn strung around the tree, and cut-out adornments.  Cj will be a little older to help with safety scissors and I think he would really enjoy doing so.

Merry Christmas!

About Tami

I am a 33 wife, mother and first grade teacher. This blog began a few years ago when I was a stay at home mom in Mexico. I was terrified to venture out of the house, seeing that there were gun fights between cartels and military officials almost twice a week. I felt uneven even inside the house. I discovered blogging soothed a little bit of my nervousness. It started off with me sharing my life here in Mexico but when a close family member went missing, I backed away from sharing too much information. I still wanted to blog, but what? FOOD! I was at home cooking 3 times a day, why not share what I love to do and all the new food I was discovering. Not only that, I have been cooking since I was in the second grade. So I am still here sharing my past, present and future through everyone's estomagos.

A Peso for your Thoughts

